Loyd Phillips to be honorary A Club Captain during Razorback-Texas A&M game

Former Arkansas All-American, All-Southwest Conference selection and College Football Hall of Fame inductee Loyd Phillips will serve as the A Club Honorary Captain for Saturday’s game between Arkansas and Texas A&M.

Phillips was a three-year letterwinner for the Razorbacks from 1964-66. Phillips was the school’s first two-time All-American, having earned the honor in 1965 and 1966.

In 1966, Phillips was a recipient of the Outland Trophy, which goes to the most outstanding lineman in college football. Phillips led the Razorbacks with a team-high 97 tackles in 1966 and earned All-Southwest Conference honors.

Phillips was a part of the 1964 national championship team and made nine tackles in Arkansas’ 10-7 victory over Nebraska in the 1965 Cotton Bowl, which helped clinch the national title. Arkansas was 29-3 in his three seasons, while also capturing the SWC championship in 1964 and 1965.

Over his three seasons at Arkansas, Phillips made 304 tackles, including a 22-tackle performance against Tulsa in 1965, which still ranks as tied for the fifth-highest single-game total in school history. In addition to being named a two-time All-American, Phillips was also a three-time All-SWC selection. Phillips was selected 10th overall in the 1967 NFL Draft by the Chicago Bears and went on to play three seasons with the Bears.

Following his playing career, Phillips was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the UA Hall of Honor.

The A Club honorary captain is recognized before each home game for their outstanding accomplishments on the field during their Razorback career. Each captain will be available for a brief autograph session at the AT&T Fan Zone at The Gardens prior to each game. Before kickoff, they will be recognized and will accompany the captains to midfield for the coin toss.

Kickoff for Saturday’s sold-out game vs. Texas A&M inside Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium is set for 6 p.m. The game will be nationally televised on ESPN2.