Razorbacks, Aggies to return to Cowboy Stadium

Arkansas and Texas A&M have agreed to resume a long-term series in Cowboys Stadium beginning in the 2014 college football season, according to a statement from the University of Arkansas Athletics Public Relations office

After moving the series to campus sites for 2012 and 2013, the game will return to Cowboys Stadium for 11 years, through the 2024 season. The two teams have played at Cowboys Stadium in each of the last three years as part of the Southwest Classic, prior to Texas A&M joining the Southeastern Conference. The new agreement will amend the existing contract through 2018.

The Razorbacks have won all three previous Southwest Classics including a 42-38 comeback win over the Aggies last season. In fact, Arkansas has won more games (4) in Cowboys Stadium than any other college football program in the country. In addition to the three wins over Texas A&M, Arkansas defeated Kansas State 29-16 last January in the 2012 AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic.

Prior to the start of the new agreement in 2014, both institutions will host games at campus sites. Texas A&M will host Arkansas at Kyle Field on Sept. 29, 2012 while the Razorbacks will host the Aggies at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium in Sept., 28, 2013.

“We are excited to have reached a new agreement to return our series with Texas A&M to Cowboys Stadium,” Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. “The addition of Texas A&M into the SEC will only increase the excitement surrounding the Southwest Classic played in the world’s most spectacular stadium.”