Razorback baseball team wins series against Mississippi State

Arkansas scored three runs in the bottom of the first and Arkansas pitcher Randall Fant, Jalen Beeks and Colby Suggs made that stand up for the rest of the game as the 13th-ranked Razorbacks defeated No. 15 Mississippi State, 3-1, in the series finale on Sunday afternoon at Baum Stadium.

The victory clinches the series for the Razorbacks and improves the team to 21-8 overall and 6-3 in Southeastern Conference play. Mississippi State drops to 23-8 overall and 3-6 in league play.

Fant (2-0) started on the mound and turned in his fourth consecutive quality start. The senior southpaw allowed one run on four hits and struck out six over six innings of work.

Mississippi State starter Ben Bracewell (0-1) took the loss. Bracewell did not record an out and gave up three runs on two hits and walked a pair.

Arkansas scored its only three runs of the game in the bottom of the first. Mahan led off the inning with a single to center and a walk to Serrano put runners on first and second. Spoon then laced a double down the left field line, scoring Mahan and advancing Serrano to third. A walk to Brian Anderson loaded the bases and Vinson then drew a bases loaded walk to score the second run of the inning. Ficociello brought home the third run of the inning on his 6-4-3 double play.

Mississippi State got a run back in the top of the fourth. Rea led off the inning with his second home run of the inning, sending a 1-1 pitch over the wall in left field.

The Bulldogs were unable to get any closer the rest of the game. In the sixth, the Bulldogs left runners stranded on first and second after Daryl Norris flied out to center to end the threat.

Mississippi State attempted one last rally in the ninth. The Bulldogs got the leadoff man on after an error by Ficociello, but Suggs came back to retire the next three batters to end the game and give Arkansas the series victory.

Arkansas continues SEC play next weekend in Tuscaloosa, Ala., against the Alabama Crimson Tide. The series begins on Thursday with a 7 p.m. first pitch in a game that will be televised by ESPNU.

Friday’s game is set for a 6:35 p.m. first pitch, while the series finale on Saturday will start at 1:05 p.m.