Nine Razorbacks set to enter UA Sports Hall of Honor

Nine former University of Arkansas student-athletes will be inducted as members of the 2015 class of the UA Sports Hall of Honor this September.

The honorees include a pair of consensus football All-Americans, one of the top rebounders in school history, two NCAA championship divers, a women’s track and field star and one of the most decorated men’s track and field stars in the storied tradition of Razorback Track and Field.

The 2015 class includes former Razorback football players Steve Korte, Kendall Trainor and Lynn Garner, men’s basketball player Derek Hood, baseball player Mike Loggins, divers Ron Meyer and Robin Ford, women’s track and field All-American Deedee Brown-Campbell and men’s track and field All-American and NCAA Champion Niall Bruton. The 2015 inductees were elected to the UA Sports Hall of Honor based on a vote by former Razorback letter winners in conjunction with the A Club.

The 2015 class will be inducted during the Hall of Honor weekend, Sept. 3-5. Hall of Honor weekend includes a golf tournament at the Fayetteville Country Club and an induction banquet at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Springdale. Inductees will also be recognized during half-time of Arkansas’ football home opener against UTEP at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium. 

Tables and individual tickets to the induction banquet and the Hall of Honor golf tournament may be purchased from the Razorback Foundation.

Steve Korte
Lettered in football in 1981 and 1982. Earned Consensus All-America honors as an offensive guard as a senior in 1982 helping Arkansas rush for more than 2,300 yards and 22 touchdowns. 

Kendall Trainor
One of the best placekickers in Razorback history, he was a consensus first-team All-America selection in 1988. A former walk-on, Trainor led the nation with an average of 2.18 field goals made per game in helping lead the Razorbacks to a Southwest Conference championship. 

Derek Hood
A four-year letterwinner from 1996-99, Derek Hood was one of the most prolific rebounders in Arkansas history. A second-team All-Southeastern Conference performer by both the Associated Press and SEC Coaches in 1999 and third-team player in 1997, Hood is one of only two players in school history to score 1,000 points and collect 1,000 rebounds, finishing just 13 boards shy of Sidney Moncrief’s record.

Mike Loggins

An All-American outfielder for the Razorbacks, Loggins played for Arkansas head coach Norm DeBriyn from 1983-85. Loggins was named an All-American in 1995 and earned All-Southwest Conference honors in both 1984 and 1985.  He also earned All-SWC Tournament honors in 1985.

Ron Meyer

The only four-time All-American in Razorback men’s swimming and diving history, Ron Meyer stands alone as the most accomplished diver in the history of the University of Arkansas.

Niall Bruton

Bruton lettered from 1991-94 at the University of Arkansas and was a three-time NCAA Champion during his career with the Razorbacks. The Dublin, Ireland native was an 11-time All-American, earning All-America honors in each of his four years competing for Arkansas. He won back-to-back NCAA championships in the indoor mile in 1993 (4:00.05) and 1994 (3:59.34).

Deedee Brown-Campbell

A member of the University of Arkansas women’s track and field team from 1999-2002, Brown-Campbell was a two-time All- American and is the former school record holder in the pentathlon. During her time on campus, Brown-Campbell was a three-time SEC individual champion (2000 SEC indoor – distance-medley relay, 2000 SEC outdoor – heptathlon, 2002 SEC indoor – pentathlon) and helped lead the Razorbacks to four SEC team titles.

Robin Ford

An NCAA champion, Ford was a member of the Razorback diving team from 1983-85 under the direction of diving coach Donnie Craine. While at Arkansas, Ford became the first female diver to claim an NCAA title when she captured the three-meter title with a mark of 482.45 at the 1985 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Lynn Garner

Lynn Garner lettered for the Razorbacks from 1967-69 and was a first-team All-Southwest Conference selection as a junior. He collected 330 tackles, a number that was third in school history at the time and is still tied for 10th on Arkansas’ career list. During his career the Razorbacks were 23-8-1 and claimed the 1968 SWC championship with a 10-1 record.